Too-nah!

A few years ago, 2006 to be exact, my dear mother-in-law [and yes, she is a dear one], got Hubby and I “The Low-Carb Bible” for Christmas. I was a little surprised, was she was wanting tell me something, was it a hint? I was not looking to lose weight. I did ask her last year about it [kind of jokingly] and she claimed that she thought the recipes had looked delicious. Okay then. I believe her.

What I don’t believe in, are strict diets. I don’t do no fat, no sugar, no carb = no life diets. I believe in a well-rounded diet! Eat a mixture of things, eat in moderation. [says the snack-a-holic, face-stuffing, evening muncher].

That said, I do look for food ideas in my low-carb bible at times. It does contain some very yummy looking meals. The kids favorite is a roasted rosemary chicken leg recipe.

Today I was looking for ideas for lunch. I found a recipe for stir-fried asparagus. Score, since we had just bought some asparagus for the first time in ages. [Yes, even this family is looking to make some healthy choices]. I decided to make it as a side to the already planned main course, TUNA MELTS!

Here’s the recipe for the stir-fried veggies. It wasn’t uber well received by the kids. I added a clove of garlic. I think that next time, I will skip the celery [belongs in a soup or with chicken wings] and add a yellow pepper, and more garlic. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

stir-fried asparagus a la the low-carb bible:

  • 1/2 pound asparagus [a bundle]
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil or canola oil [used olive oil]
  • 1 cup celery slices
  • 1/2 cup bottled roasted peppers, drained and diced [used a beautiful, fresh, red pepper]
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted* [omitted due to nut allergies]                                                                                                      To *toast the almonds, place in a small dry skillet. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until almonds are lightly browned.

1. Trim ends from asparagus; cut stalks diagonally into 1-inch pieces.
2. Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add celery; stir-fry 2 minutes. Add asparagus and red peppers. Stir-fry 3-4 minutes until asparagus is crisp tender.
3. Add black pepper and almonds; mix until blended.                         Makes 6 servings

The tuna melts were made in the oven, The Girl helped with placing cheese slices on the open-faced sandwiches. The pictures don’t do justice to how the tuna melts tasted: Heavenly!

Just a heads up, TUNA is an awesome alternative to chicken, it’s a great source of protein and it’s cheap! Don’t be afraid of the tune. I have even made quesadilla’s using tuna.

Wishing you a wonderful day,

Carb-lover


2 thoughts on “Too-nah!

  1. I like your diet philosophy. And I like tuna melts! We also make tuna tacos, using the taco seasoning mix with tuna instead of ground-beef. Yum!

Leave a Reply

