search word: chicken potato soup

I am not a cook. Really. Cooking does not come to me naturally. But I can cook. I spent so many years resisting cooking because of the notion that it’s “woman’s work”. Then I married a man who is an amazing cook. I don’t have to cook. But I want to. Sometimes.

Boy Bear has cried on and off all day. He has a fever. A runny nose.

Hubby has been in meetings all day.

Firstborn and The Girl have not fought since they got home from school.

It’s a cozy day. It’s a soup kind of day.

So, what is a woman to do? Check the fridge. Check the freezer. Chicken. Potatoes? We have potatoes! Next: Google! Search word: chicken potato soup. HIT. Allrecipes.com. Check fridge for ingredients. Got everything BUT hot sauce. That’s ok.

Here’s the recipe for a Chicken and Potato Soup – YUMMY! I actually followed the recipe very closely this time. We are a lactose intolerant family so I used Lactose Free milk. I used a red onion and since we didn’t have hot sauce I seasoned with chili and cayenne instead. Who knew that a bland looking soup could be zingy!?

Chicken and Potato Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 1/2 pounds skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – diced
  • 1 large onion, diced – I used red
  • 6 medium potatoes, diced
  • 1 (15 ounce) can carrots, drained  – I used 2 large fresh ones
  • 1 (10 ounce) can peas, drained – I used frozen
  • 1 (11 ounce) can corn, drained
  • 1 cup milk – Lactose Free Milk
  • 2 cups water, or as needed
  • hot pepper sauce to taste – Didn’t have, seasoned with Chili and Cayenne instead
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Melt the butter in a large pot over medium heat, and cook the chicken 10 minutes, or until evenly browned and juices run clear.
  2. Mix the onion into pot with the chicken. Mix in potatoes, carrots, peas, and corn. Pour in milk an enough water to cover all ingredients. Season with hot sauce, salt, and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, and continue cooking 30 minutes, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are tender.
We had the soup with some AMAZING fresh bread from the bakery!
Now, I’m on the couch with the kiddos and we are watching “Charlie Brown Christmas”…. I told you, it’s a cozy kind of day!
2 thoughts on “search word: chicken potato soup

Leave a Reply

