T.M.I…

TMI – also know as Too Much Information.

Most people write this when they are about to share just that – TOO much information… more information than anyone should really know. Or, maybe it’s something we read or heard and find that we just received just a that – TOO much information…

Just a few days ago, when I was checking my Facebook, I noticed how people were updating and commenting through their iPhone’s, Blackberry’s, Twitter accounts and what not! There seems to be a new way to keep up with the world every day!

Not only am I supposed to live my own life, but I’m living other people’s lives too. I get reminded about my FB friends birthday’s. Better not forget to wish everyone a Happy Birthday. I also have to make sure I congratulate everyone on their new jobs, weddings, babies, new houses etc.

In the “olden” times, these were once in awhile events, but with 100’s of FB friends, they are daily things!

Facebook also seems to be a place to brag at.

  • I just had the coziest date night with the most beautiful husband in the world!
  • I got promoted and am now the youngest executive in my company! Ever!
  • All my kids are Honor roll students. A+ all the way!
  • My 9 month old is walking, My 1 year old is talking, My 2 year old is reading and my 5 year old is going to college!

How does one keep up? Really, aren’t there enough pressures in life without trying to keep up with the Joneses? We practically drown ourselves in other people’s [perfect] lives.

Then there is Google! Do you want to find out more information about the things in the news, just Google and all the information in the world is at your feet, or at your fingertips I guess. Health, Politics, Hollywood Drama, Violence, Swine Flu, Bed bug infestations… you name it!

We know TOO much about everything and nothing!

Too Much Information or Information Overload?

I know this brain is fried!

edited to add: I do like wishing people a Happy Birthday, I love encouraging people and all that – it’s just that, all that info and time spent on the computer adds up. Kwim? Also, there is some double standard going on here as well. I brag about my hubby on FB all the time and I would LOVE for your to read my blog – about my [not so perfect] life! Mwa ha haa….

One thought on “T.M.I…

  1. Phil says:

    Go figure. For awhile now, I’ve enjoyed the ‘wonder of the internet’. Now it seems we’re caught in the net. Comparison is a killer for me. I have to make sure that I don’t judge my life compared to others lives, but it’s a trap that we all fall into! 😉

Leave a Reply

