What’s for Dinner?

I’m really bad at planning dinners!

I know that if I did, I’d save money, time, sanity, you know, all those important things a woman needs. The fast-food temptation is always lurking behind the corner (literally since those places are behind each corner). But, I avoided temptation and looked into my fridge instead. What I found was lots of cherry tomatoes, and since I already had some chicken breasts out, I did what every good wife and mom does, I googled: chicken tomato pasta!

This is the recipe I found and used.  It was DELISH and very fresh tasting. I served it with a side-salad a la spinach, tomatoes and cucumber. I should mention that the presentation of the dish was initially prettier, but I was hungry and…. enough said!

Recipe for Chicken Tomato Pasta:

Note: This recipe is great for those who are lactose intolerance or who want to limit their dairy intake for any reason.

Ingredients:
500g chicken breast, cut into small pieces [I had 700gr of chicken)
1/2 cup onion, diced [one medium red onion]
2 cloves garlic, minced [we like garlic so 4 cloves went in]
2 cans (410g) of diced tomato [didn’t use canned tomatoes at all, but about 15 cherry tomatoes]
1 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms [didn’t have any, so didn’t add any]
1/3 cup balsamic vinegar [this made all the difference, yum!]
1 tsp. basil [didn’t have any]
1 tsp. oregano
1/2 tsp. thyme
1/2 tsp. rosemary
1/4 cup tomato paste [didn’t use]
cooking spray [used olive oil]
3 1/3 cup cooked pasta [used Capellini and made a bigger portion]

Instructions:
Spray frypan with nonstick cooking spray. Sauté onion, garlic and mushrooms for approximately 5 minutes over low heat. Add raw chicken pieces. Cook chicken over medium high heat until no longer pink. Once chicken is cooked, add tomatoes, paste, balsamic vinegar, and spices to the mixture. Mix together and simmer over medium low heat for 20 minutes.

3 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner?

Leave a Reply

